Credit Where Credit’s Due.

coffee:magazine by monkey_pushover_tree
coffee:magazine, a photo by monkey_pushover_tree on Flickr.

This morning, on the way home from a meeting, I got to sneak off to my favourite coffee shop with a fresh new magazine for an hour of “me time”. I was so excited, you’d think I was going to see Prince live on stage (aahhh, the memories of the best concert I’ve ever been to…..). So yep, coffee, mag and I could see the perfect little dark corner, but when I sat down, I realized I was right next door to two women and one 3-year-old!

I was so disappointed, I just knew this was not going to be a peaceful break, but guess what? Yes, I did hear a few games of “I Spy” in between the mums’ hushed convo, but it really didn’t spoil my coffee/reading in the least. In fact, it took me back just a couple of years to when Bell and I would spend our mornings doing exactly the same thing. I Spy is still big in our house, by the way, but now our coffee dates are usually taken up with big school talk.

I got to read the whole magazine, MindFood = heaven, and recaffeinate myself for almost a whole hour. I also got a few giggles as her squeaky little voice bubbled away. As I was leaving, I had to stop and let the mum know what a well-behaved little girl she has. I’m sure she thought I was stopping at her table to have a dig, and her face lit up when I told her what a little possum she had.

I know sometimes others can creep into our “space”, but every now and then this can be a positive thing. I think I just may start a game of I Spy on the drive home from school today.

 

                                                                         Photobucket

Linking up with Life on planet Baby for Post of the Month Club.

8 thoughts on “Credit Where Credit’s Due.

  1. What a delightful experience that must have been, Lisa! Plaudits to her parents. And I’m so pleased you snuck in some ‘me time’. J x

  2. That Mum would have been so proud to have been told such positive words about her daughter. It sounds like you had a lovely break, it’s so nice to get these moments to yourself. 🙂

    • I know Gina, when Bell was little, it was lovely if someone commented that she was well-behaved. Doesn’t take much to pass on a positive comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

